Most Civilians Don’t Get It: God, Duty, Honor, Country

Arlington National Cemetery

Arlington National Cemetery

That is me.  That is my sister. That is my son. That is my father and mother.

My grandfather was a “lifer” in the military.  Both my father and mother were officers.  I gave up my son to help him get into the Marine Corps.  He fought and survived Iraq thank God.

Most civilians don’t understand life-long commitment, life and death commitment.  Hell, they think only about the here and now.

On an Arlington National Cemetery hill overlooking the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier

On an Arlington National Cemetery hill overlooking the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier

I was that kid waiting at the military flightline for my Dad to get home.  We watched military families keep their front blinds shut in the military housing area so they wouldn’t see the staff car drive up when their family member was deployed into a war zone.  We ran to comfort the families that received the staff car news: KIA, POW, MIA.

A commitment lasts an eternity, not just your time on Earth.  Too bad that civilians are missing the big picture.  The important stuff.  They only get what is the pin-dot of time here in this world and don’t get the feeling of mission, purpose, life, and blessings beyond this planet.

Please God help these weak ones know You, know the power of eternity with You, and decide to honor You, their families, their duty, and their country before their life is over in a meaningless pursuit of nothing.

3 Responses

  1. Being from a military family, I understand. Thank you and your family for everything!

  2. Well written sir! The prayer at the end was very poignant.

Leave a Reply

